Countdown to PlayFest 2018

See Tomorrow’s Great Plays in Durango, Colorado Today: Durango PlayFest 2020

Nationally Recognized Theatre Artists

The 3rd annual Durango PlayFest kicks off August 10th, 2020, when professional theatre artists gather for a week to develop and workshop four new plays before showcasing them with live readings in front of the community.

Playwriting Festival Audiences Experience the Creative Process

Durango PlayFest will be an incubator for professional actors, directors and playwrights as well as regional artists to develop new work.  Audiences will have a window into their creative process and interact with them during panels, artists’ talks, parties and post-reading talkbacks.

Our PlayFest Hosts: Actors Dan Lauria, Wendie Malick

Durango PlayFest grew from the passion of a dedicated committee of local community members and Dan Lauria (“The Wonder Years” and “Pitch”) and Wendie Malick (“Just Shoot Me!” and “Hot in Cleveland”).

Theatre Arts Festival at a Glance

This summer playwriting festival culminates with exciting stage readings of original stories and an up-close-and-personal journey into the art of storytelling. Each of the plays will have a script-in-hand reading scheduled on Thursday, August 13- Saturday, August 15 at the Durango Arts Center, 802 East 2nd Avenue, the Animas City Theater, 128 East College Avenue, and Durango’s historic Henry Strater Theatre, 699 Main Avenue. Talkback sessions, workshops and other events throughout the week offer an unparalleled opportunity to participate in this wildly creative Southwest Colorado Arts Festival.

For more information on how you can plug into this thrilling pioneer effort, sign up for our mailing list on the Contact Us page and stay tuned for our Schedule of Events, coming soon!

Meet Our Actors


Subscribe to our newsletter to stay informed.